Bupac Speaker Mayor Kevin Anderson

Speaker for May 12, 2022 –

Kevin B. Anderson was sworn in as the 62nd Mayor of Fort Myers on November 16, 2020, after serving as Ward 4 councilperson for the previous two years. Mayor Anderson retired from Chico’s FAS, Inc. in June 2019 after 15 years. Prior to joining Chico’s, Anderson had a more than 24-year career with the Fort Myers Police Department, holding the rank of Major at retirement. He was one of the first officers assigned to the School Resource Officer program, established the Habitual Juvenile Offender Unit and introduced the Citizen Police Academy and Citizens on Patrol programs.

Mayor Anderson is a graduate of Edison Community College, Florida Gulf Coast University and the University of Louisville Southern Police Institute. An active community member with a long history of community involvement, Anderson has been a resident of Fort Myers since 1979, serving on numerous boards and coalitions in Southwest Florida. He also served three years in the United States Army.

Anderson was an appointee to the Children’s Services Council of Lee County by Governor Chiles, and served on the Board of Directors for the Southwest Florida Safety Council, the Board of Directors for the Coalition for Drug Free Southwest Florida and the Lee County Chapter of the American Red Cross. He was the inaugural chair of the State of Florida Juvenile Justice Standards and Training Commission, and is a past president of the Edison Festival of Light.

While on city council, Anderson was Vice Chair of the Community Redevelopment Agency Board, and was the council liaison to the Citizens Police Review Board, the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board, Historic Preservation Commission and the Public Art Committee.

Currently Mayor Anderson serves on the chair of the CRA, the advisory board of Barbara’s Friends, the Board of Directors for the United Way of Lee, Hendry, Glades and Okeechobee Counties, as well as serves as a mentor for the Lee Public Schools Foundation’s Take Stock in Children program.